top of page

Significant meanings

Research was essential for my project. I watched various films in class and at home to be able to realize how important every little detail in a movie is. It took a while to train my eye and my mind, but thankfully I was able to do it. Before filming my project I thought of all my props, locations, costumes, and makeup that I would use throughout my film. One of my establishing shots was of the sky with a tree covering most of the sky. This shot is helps foreshadow the events that are about to occur. The meaning of this shot is that something is always covering the light, also known as hope for Elizabeth. My scene begins at a park, as the main character Elizabeth is jogging. At the beginning the scene seems to be somewhat happy because of the sunny day. The audience has to pay attention to the leaves on the ground symbolizing "life sucks." The audience should also be able to see the significance in the way Elizabeth jogs, she jogs as if she disliked her life or as if something was going on in her life. Elizabeths wet hair and face symbolize that she is trying to wash away the pain she feels. I purposely made her wear a shirt that read, motivation. The irony of this shit is very important to the film because it allows the audience to understand that she has to constantly remind herself to be motived because she cant do it herself. that she The purpose of having a women sit next to her at the park was to demonstrate how scared and traumatized she is of everyone that gets near her. Elizabeth enters a white car. The significant of the white car demonstrates irony, due to the fact that white represents purity and the events that have taken place in her life contradict this. As the scene continues, Elizabeth is placed in a twin bed. This bed has a significance of her feeling alone in life. As the scene continues, I made sure her dream was in low key lighting to show a meaning of darkness and fear. The mise-en-scene used in the dream is very important. Both kidnappers are dressed in black to represent evil. The significance of having two women, a mother and a daughter kidnap a teenager is to challenge gender roles and the typical loving family.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page