top of page

Lights. Camera. Action.

The reason I did the beginning of my film with less action, was to keep in audience interested in the whole film. Once you finish watching my opening scene, the audience should be able to piece together the fact that the main character is traumatized due to the fact that she was recently kidnaped. The reason I had a women sit next to her at the park, was to demonstrate that even the kindest people would scare her to death. I found it a bit difficult to show that Elizabeth was traumatized. I used close up shots of Elizabeths face to allow the audience to feel the pain and nerves with her. My idea was to have various shots of her walking to her car, to be able to show how scared she really is and make the film more suspenseful. When I began to edit this part of the film, it looked very messy because I had too many shots coming back and forth. Even though this made the climax of the film more suspenseful, to made it harder to understand what really was happening.

I had too many ideas for my two minute opening scene and because of this I hd to cut back on some of them. Before her going to sleep, my plan was to have Elizabeth at home searching online and through papers for evidence and research on those who kidnapped her. The reason for her doing this, is that she now trusts no one and rathers resolve the investigation herself. When I began to edit the film with this included, it was over a three minute film. I had to sit down for a while and think of what would be the smartest thing to take out from the film to cut down on time. That is when I decided to have her wake up from her dream, and from there the continuation of the film would be that.

Something I played around with a lot and still found it very difficult was sound. It was very difficult for me to connect two different sound effects without it looking awkward. The best I could do was lower the volume of the ending of one song and the beginning of another. When I tried to not put sound on some parts of the film, it looked like something was missing.

Throughout this process, thankfully I was able to recognize every single of my mistakes and I was able to learn from them as well !


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page